Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Database, a Dataset and Data
It is important to know what a Database is and to know the difference between Databases, Datasets, and Data.
A Database holds multiple Datasets. A search engine or our school catalogue are a good example of a Database.
A Dataset holds information from a particular collection of Data. An example might be a journal holding various articles all on the same area of interest.
The Data itself might be in the form of an article.
So when you use a Database it searches through lots of information from Datasets which contain Data such as articles.
Academic Search Engines
This is very easy to use. It looks and feels like Google.
It contains access to information such as:
- peer reviewed articles
- other articles previously published
- unpublished scholarly articles
- Master's theses or other academic degree or classwork
- citations for books, some of which link to the actual parts of the book online
Though Google Scholar is perhaps more used, don't disregard using Microsoft Academic. Very good for academic peer reviewed articles on Psychology.
Most Databases have video tutorials. Make sure you use them.
Here is an example from Elsvier as to how to use Science Direct and one on how to use DOAJ
Once in a database, use filters to help refine your search. Refine your search by:
- using " " - to get an exact match
- date - In Science it is important to use the most up-to-date information. This is not the case in History.
Available as both hardy copy and online
Head to the NCC to check out hardcopies of this journal. They are just inside the main door to the left.
There are specific Databases for each area of interest. Therefore there are specific Databases for Scientific Research.
For some, you need to pay for access. Below are ones that we recommend you use which you do not have to pay for.
You will need to create a free account. Use your school account details and your first name only, if allowed.
These databases all contain peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
Remember to look for Open Access and Creative Commons.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access
This Database has access to approximately 10,000 Open Access academic journals. It covers interest areas such as Science, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Technology
Elesvier specialises in scientific, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals. It includes access to the journal Science Direct.
Taylor and Francis Online
Taylor and Francis publishes across a wide range of academic areas of interest.
'Scientific Journals' gives access to a wide range of scientific and medical journals. Browse by category.
Longdom Biological: Open Access
Longdom Publishing SL is one of the leading international publishers of open access journals in scientific fields. This one is specifically for Biology.
PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. The link above will take you to the Biology Database. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible.