Skip to main content

For Teachers: Remote Learning Guide for Staff

Professional learning, documentation, digital learning, iPad information

Quick Links and Access Instructions

Resource Description Remote Access Instructions Further Tips
ClickView

ClickView provides for all your video content needs:

  • Our ClickView Library is a collection curated to support the curriculum and teaching and learning at Lowther Hall. Share video links and folders with students, colleagues and faculty.
  • If you need something new, head to the ClickView Exchange which is a repository of video content uploaded by other ClickView users. You can request videos from the Exchange be added to our ClickView Library for future use.
  • ClickView TV hosts the last 2 weeks worth of programs from Free-to-Air television for you to upload for future use. You can also request programs from Foxtel.
  • ClickView Playlists is a way to create custom video collections to share with others.
  • Your ClickView Workspace is a place you can upload your own videos or edit videos from elsewhere in ClickView to better suit your needs.

Access via Single Sign On using your usual Lowther Hall login.

 

On ClickView's login page, you will need to enter your Lowther Hall email address, then click 'Next'. Then enter your usual Lowther Hall username and password.

Our ClickView How-to Guide

 

Fiona's Tips for Teaching Remotely with ClickView

 

Britannica School
Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition is a great starting point for reputable information on a vast array of topics. Three different reading levels provide the ability to easily differentiate within the classroom, from K to 12. Access via Off-Site Password (see Password document).

Our Britannica How-to Guide

Fiona's Homeroom Ideas using Britannica School

Ebsco eBooks

We subscribe to a range of different databases from Ebsco Host. The eBook Collection, High School Collection and K-8 Collection provide a vast collection of non-fiction eBooks, appropriate to different reading levels, that supplement our print collection. The Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre provides access to articles, while the Education Collection provides pedagogical material.

All eBooks are also searchable via our catalogue.

Access via Off-Site Password (see Password document).

Our Ebsco How-to Guide

Fiona's tips on Remotely Sourcing Non-Fiction Materials for Students using Ebsco

Our Catalogue: WorldCat Discovery
Search our Library Catalogue via the WorldCat Discovery interface.

If you get a pop up saying 'Authentication Required', then click 'Continue as Guest' to proceed. No login required.

When in Remote Learning, use the facets on the left side of your search results, to filter to only show eBooks and other digital resources.
Issues in Society
Issues in Society is a series of publications that focus on topical, social issues and can be used as a cross-curricular resource.They are thoroughly researched compilations of the latest news, facts, statistics and commentary from trusted sources. Many titles cover a range of opinions on controversial topics, providing the perfect platform to provoke debate, stimulate critical analysis and encourage further research. Twelve new titles are released each year and are available to use both as physical books and as digital PDF. Access via Off-Site Password (see Password document).  
The Age Newspaper
The Age is a Melbourne-based daily newspaper, owned by Nine Entertainment Co. and Fairfax Media. Full access via Off-Site Password (see Password document). To access full Digital Editions of The Age, you will need to login, then click 'Menu' (top, left), scroll down to 'Premium', then click 'Today's paper'. You can then view back issues from the past 6 months.
The Herald Sun Newspaper
The Herald Sun is a Melbourne-based daily newspaper, owned by News Corp Australia. Staff only access via Off-Site Password (see Password document). To access full Digital Editions of The Herald Sun, you will need to login, then click 'Read the Paper' (in the top menu bar), a new window will open and you need to click 'Read Now'. You can then view back issues from the past 6 months.

 

Off-Site Passwords

A lot of our resources use Single Sign On (SSO), which means that your Lowther Hall login (the same one you use to access your Lowther Hall emails) will allow you access to our different resources.

However, not every platform uses SSO. For these exceptions, you will need a different password. You will find these via the link below.

Be sure you are logged in using your usual Lowther login to view this document. Download it and keep it somewhere safe on your device for future use. Please do not share this with people outside the Lowther Hall community.

Remote Learning Guide Quick Links

Need Help?

Need help accessing something? The Nora Collisson Centre team is here to help!

We are available to assist you via email, or chat with us on Zoom, or be in touch to schedule a Zoom call or meeting.

  • Contact Ms Esther Johnson (Senior Education Resources Manager and Community Hub Coordinator) or Mr Sebastian Stocks (Education Resources Manager) for assistance with eBooks, holds, loans, book requests, accessing digital or print resources, and general enquiries. Our email is NCC@lowtherhall.vic.edu.au
  • Contact Ms Fiona King (Information Fluency and Research Educator: Senior School and Raymond House) for help with research, information fluency, searching and finding information, or guidance in our Non-Fiction collection. Her email is KingF@lowtherhall.vic.edu.au
  • Contact Ms Kirsty Murphy (Reading Specialist and Teacher of English: Senior School) if you are in Senior School and are looking for book recommendations, reading guidance and suggestions, or if you need help with the Premiers' Reading Challenge. Her email is MurphyK@lowtherhall.vic.edu.au
  • Contact Mrs Jenny Barry (Reading and Literature Specialist: Blinkbonnie and Raymond House) if you are in Blinkbonnie House or Raymond House and are looking for book recommendations, reading guidance and suggestions, or if you need help with the Premiers' Reading Challenge. Her email is BarryJ@lowtherhall.vic.edu.au