For Teachers: Feedback

A teacher's feedback on student schoolwork can be a powerful force for learning--if it contains a helpful message and is delivered with certain considerations in mind. But what kind of content makes a feedback message helpful to a student? And what kinds of strategies work best for delivering feedback? In How to Give Effective Feedback to Your Students, Susan M. Brookhart answers these questions by describing important elements of feedback content (focus, comparison, function, valence, clarity, specificity, and tone) and strategy (timing, amount, mode, and audience). Grounded in what researchers have learned about effective feedback, the book provides practical suggestions and classroom examples that demonstrate what to do--and not do--to have a positive impact on students. In addition to general guidelines for good feedback, readers will learn what kinds of feedback work best in the various content areas, and how to adjust feedback for different kinds of learners, including successful students, struggling students, and English language learners. Done well, feedback has a two-pronged effect: it influences cognitive factors by helping students understand where they are in their learning and where they need to go next, and it influences motivational factors by helping students develop a feeling of control over their own learning. Taken together, these factors explain why learning how to give good feedback should be at the top of every teacher's to-do list.

Educators' most important work is to help students develop the intellectual and social strength of character necessary to live well in the world. The way to do this, argue authors Bena Kallick and Allison Zmuda, is to increase the say students have in their own learning and prepare them to navigate complexities they face both inside and beyond school. This means rethinking traditional teacher and student roles and re-examining goal setting, lesson planning, assessment, and feedback practices. It means establishing classrooms that prioritizeVoice--Involving students in "the what" and "the how" of learning and equipping them to be stewards of their own education.Co-creation--Guiding students to identify the challenges and concepts they want to explore and outline the actions they will take.Social construction--Having students work with others to theorize, pursue common goals, build products, and generate performances.Self-discovery--Teaching students to reflect on their own developing skills and knowledge so that they will acquire new understandings of themselves and how they learn.Based on their exciting work in the field, Kallick and Zmuda map out a transformative model of personalization that puts students at the center and asks them to employ the set of dispositions for engagement and learning known as the Habits of Mind. They share the perspectives of educators engaged in this work; highlight the habits that empower students to pursue aspirations, investigate problems, design solutions, chase curiosities, and create performances; and provide tools and recommendations for adjusting classroom practices to facilitate learning that is self-directed, dynamic, sometimes messy, and always meaningful.

Please refer to the relevant section: Promoting student growth: Feedback.

Leading, Teaching, and Learning is a resource for teachers taking action on Common Core State Standards to enhance student learning. Each chapter addresses various disciplines and grade levels with concrete examples. Chapters focus on research-based instruction, academic language development, thinking and complexity, English learners, non-proficient readers, rigor, and collaboration for ongoing professional capacity building.

Includes sections on: Feedback to Improve Learning, Clear Goals, Self-monitoring, and Feedback, and Implementation for Student Self-monitoring and Teacher's Feedback.

Written by a teacher for teachers, this book uses examples and anecdotes from real schools to discuss the practical applications of brain research to teaching and learning.
Includes a section on assessment and feedback.

Teachers may be surrounded by feedback and involved in it every day, but the notion is poorly analysed and poorly used. Feedback for Learning provides an important collection of contributions to the highly topical theme of feedback to support learning.
The book spans three major areas which affect all teachers:
*young people's learning
*teachers' learning
*organisational learning.
The authors critically examine the assumption that feedback necessarily has positive learning outcomes and describe models and practices which are more likely to result in effective learning at the individual, group and organisational level.

Focuses on the key issue of feedback in student assessments "Giving Students Effective Written Feedback" considers feedback from both the perspective of tutor provider and student receiver to offer new insights into the impact feedback has on student performance. The text provides an opportunity to explore research and contemporary concerns about the function and impact of written feedback. It also offers you practical guidance on how to give more appropriate and effective feedback and strategies you can use with students to ensure that they make full use of tutor feedback. "Giving Students Effective Feedback" not only covers assessment theories and literature, but contains a wide range of examples as well as case studies that will be helpful in your teaching skill set and support of student learners.

Drawing on research-based findings and the experiences of both new and veteran classroom teachers, this guide offers practical ideas for middle and high school teachers, regardless of discipline. The first chapters introduce the Feedback Loop framework; highlight the four elements of goals, tools, data, and inferences; and explore how to close the loop by connecting inferences and goals through feedback. Later chapters show how to use the full loop to inform your instruction.

In Teaching Matters Most, Thomas McCann, Alan C. Jones, and Gail Aronoff make the case that the single most important factor in continuous school improvement is the quality of instruction in schools. Unlike other books that stop at evaluating teachers and instruction, these authors argue that school leaders must work to grow the instructional capacities within their schools. To meet this goal, they offer school leaders a three-step process that involves:(1) envisioning what good teaching looks like (2) measuring the quality of current instruction against this standard, and (3) working relentlessly to move the quality of instruction closer and closer to the ideal.
Section 6 is entitled: How can teacher evaluation become more meaningful?