Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Staff Resources: Print Books available on Differentiation
Leading for Differentiation by
Publication Date: 2015
To differentiate instruction is to act on the belief that all kids deserve access to the richest, most compelling learning experiences and to provide the scaffolding they need to seize that opportunity. While a handful of teachers in a school might be using differentiation to great success, it takes a collaborative, schoolwide approach to maximize differentiation's effectiveness and improve outcomes for all students. Leading for Differentiation lays out the reflective thinking and action-oriented steps necessary to launch a system of continuous professional learning, culture building, and program assessment that will allow differentiation to flourish in every classroom. Incorporating their own experienced insights, real-world examples, and practical tools, world-renowned differentiated instruction expert Carol Ann Tomlinson and change leadership authority Michael Murphy explore * Why a move to schoolwide differentiation makes so much sense for today's students and today's standards- and accountability-focused climate * How to transform a vision for schoolwide differentiation into manageable, year-by-year plans to achieve it * How to incorporate the principles of differentiation, motivation, and adult learning into respectful, responsive, and truly effective professional learning throughout all stages of the change initiative * How to foster and recognize growth in teachers' differentiation practices, and how to chart the impact differentiation is having on student learning * How to recognize, understand, and respond to resistance--in both its predictable forms and surprising ones * What schoolwide differentiation looks like when it's fully established, and how to tend to it for long-term success Leading the change to a differentiated school means creating an environment in which each individual feels valued, challenged, supported, and part of a team working together for success. In this book, school leaders will learn how to set the course for positive change and create the structural supports that will help teachers grow as differentiators so that their students will thrive as learners.
The Differentiated Classroom by
Publication Date: 2014
Although much has changed in schools in recent years, the power of differentiated instruction remains the same--and the need for it has only increased.Today's classroom is more diverse, more inclusive, and more plugged into technology than ever before. And it's led by teachers under enormous pressure to help decidedly unstandardized students meet an expanding set of rigorous, standardized learning targets. In this updated second edition of her best-selling classic work, Carol Ann Tomlinson offers these teachers a powerful and practical way to meet a challenge that is both very modern and completely timeless: how to divide their time, resources, and efforts to effectively instruct so many students of various backgrounds, readiness and skill levels, and interests.With a perspective informed by advances in research and deepened by more than 15 years of implementation feedback in all types of schools, Tomlinson explains the theoretical basis of differentiated instruction, explores the variables of curriculum and learning environment, shares dozens of instructional strategies, and then goes inside elementary and secondary classrooms in nearly all subject areas to illustrate how real teachers are applying differentiation principles and strategies to respond to the needs of all learners.This book's insightful guidance on what to differentiate, how to differentiate, and why lays the groundwork for bringing differentiated instruction into your own classroom or refining the work you already do to help each of your wonderfully unique learners move toward greater knowledge, more advanced skills, and expanded understanding. Today more than ever, The Differentiated Classroom is a must-have staple for every teacher's shelf and every school's professional development collection.
How to Differentiate Instruction in Academically Diverse Classrooms, 3rd Edition by
Publication Date: 2017
We differentiate instruction to honor the reality of the students we teach. They are energetic and outgoing. They are quiet and curious. They are confident and self-doubting. They are interested in a thousand things and deeply immersed in a particular topic. They are academically advanced and "kids in the middle" and struggling due to cognitive, emotional, economic, or sociological challenges. More of them than ever speak a different language at home. They learn at different rates and in different ways. And they all come together in our academically diverse classrooms.Written as a practical guide for teachers, this expanded third edition of Carol Ann Tomlinson's groundbreaking work covers the fundamentals of differentiation and provides additional guidelines and new strategies for how to go about it. You'll learn What differentiation is and why it's essential How to set up the flexible and supportive learning environment that promotes success How to manage a differentiated classroom How to plan lessons differentiated by readiness, interest, and learning profile How to differentiate content, process, and products How to prepare students, parents, and yourself for the challenge of differentiationFirst published in 1995 as How to Differentiate Instruction in Mixed-Ability Classrooms, this new edition reflects evolving best practices in education, the experiences of practitioners throughout the United States and around the world, and Tomlinson's continuing thinking about how to help each and every student access challenging, high-quality curriculum; engage in meaning-rich learning experiences; and feel at home in a school environment that "fits."
Stretch and challenge : 100 ideas for secondary teachers by
Publication Date: 2020
With the new developments across all secondary curriculum areas, there is greater emphasis on building depth of subject knowledge; stretching and challenging students of all abilities is essential to achieving this deep level of learning. 100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers: Stretch and Challenge presents innovative and exciting ideas, techniques and activities to embed stretch and challenge strategies into everyday classroom practice, regardless of subject area.
Developing good stretch and challenge practices enables the cognitive process that helps learners retain new information more easily and work more productively. Looking at questioning, marking and feedback, starters, plenaries and technology-based teaching, Paul Wright explains why the strategies presented in this book are so effective.
100 ideas for secondary teachers : supporting students with numeracy difficulties by
Publication Date: 2019
Dyscalculia experts Patricia Babtie and Sue Dillon present 100 ideas to help students with numeracy difficulties grasp the core skills required in the secondary curriculum, not just in maths but in other subjects including science, design and technology, computing and geography.
Around 25 per cent of secondary school students have severe numeracy difficulties. These students are often anxious and fearful about using maths arising from a repeated failure to learn. This impacts their overall attainment. Patricia and Sue show how numeracy difficulties can be overcome using multi-sensory teaching and helping students with their study skills, revision and exam techniques. This dip-in-and-out book provides activities and games to encourage students to explore numerical ideas and discover underlying patterns across the secondary curriculum. These ideas help to develop an understanding of maths concepts and see their relevance in everyday life.
Differentiation: eBooks available
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Differentiation by
Publication Date: 2017
Differentiation is a key part of the curriculum, but can be a divisive subject among teachers. In 100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Differentiation, experienced teacher Rachel Orr provides guidance on using differentiation to make learning engaging, empowering, investigative, explorative, and open ended; matching the learning needs of each individual pupil without limiting them or your teaching. Differentiation is about knowing your pupils, and making the best learning environment for them as individuals as well as for the class as whole. This is a compilation of the many ways to easily organise and differentiate learning, as well as useful tips on scaffolding, structuring learning, and how to build on positive outcomes to make further improvements, covering each aspect of teaching, from whole class activities to homework.
100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers: Gifted and Talented by
Publication Date: 2014
100 IDEAS: QUICK - EASY - INSPIRED - OUTSTANDING The school budget for gifted and talented provision may have been reduced, but the expectation and need for it is higher than ever. This brand new title in the bestselling 100 Ideas series includes enrichment activities and teaching and management strategies for supporting the most able students in your school.Whether you are simply looking for activities to use in your classroom or you are in charge of whole school provision, there are ideas in this book for you. They range from how to identify gifted and talented students, support their individual needs and how to interest and engage them, to training other teachers and reviewing your school's provision.The book includes 50 practical strategies and 50 creative enrichment activities that can be implemented in the classroom or expanded into long-term projects. The activities cover a range of topics and ability levels as well as different areas of the curriculum. It is an essential book for any secondary teacher looking to identify, develop and challenge the most gifted and talented students in their school.
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Developing Thinking Skills by
Publication Date: 2014
Thinking skills are the cornerstones of effective learning. When children are familiar with their 'thinking toolkit' they will engage more actively and confidently with the knowledge and information you teach them. In this brand new edition, author and education consultant Steve Bowkett offers 100 tried and tested activities and techniques to help children become more creative, analytical and flexible in their thinking.Whether you are an experienced teacher or you are just starting your teaching career, there are strategies in this book that you can apply across a wide age and ability range and areas of the primary curriculum. Dip in and use the activities as 'mind warm-ups' and lesson starters, or combine techniques to form the basis of whole topics and more extended programmes of study.
100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers: Supporting Students with Dyslexia by
Publication Date: 2016
Do you need ready-to-use, fun and engaging ideas for supporting students with dyslexia in your classroom? Then look no further! Designed for busy secondary school teachers, this book is packed with tried-and-tested activities to integrate into your lesson plans that you can use straight away.There are ideas specific to secondary subject areas, including English, maths and PE, plus loads of practical advice on key areas of personal development, from self-esteem and staying motivated to effective study skills.This is the perfect companion for teachers and SENCOs who want to ensure that those children with dyslexia in their care are fully supported to help fulfil their potential.INCLUDES: Teaching tips Taking it further ideas Quotes from teachers and pupils Bonus ideas
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Supporting Children with Dyslexia by
Publication Date: 2016
Making your lessons fun, engaging and effective for all learners, including those with dyslexia, can be challenging and you can soon run out of ideas. This book offers 100 practical, ready-to-use activities to help all primary teachers with their every day lesson planning.The tried-and-tested activities cover all the key areas of the primary curriculum, including maths, spelling and creative writing, plus a wide range of ideas for teachers on differentiation, memory strategies and planning for learning.This new book is essential for all primary teachers and SENCOs who want to ensure that they are continually providing for all children in their care.INCLUDES: Teaching tips Taking it further ideas Quotes from teachers and pupils Bonus ideas Online resources
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Numeracy Difficulties and Dyscalculia by
Publication Date: 2017
100 Ideas for Primary Teachers: Numeracy Difficulties and Dyscalculia provides specially-designed games and activities to help build firm foundations in basic number concepts. All the ideas have been tried-and-testedin specialist and mainstream schools and are designed to encourage children to talk about numbers in a natural way using everyday contexts.The book begins with a focus on counting skills, before moving on to place value structure, multiplication and division. As well as teaching key facts, the ideas in this book will develop pupils' understanding so that they become flexible thinkers who can use numbers to solve a variety of mathematical problems. The ideas require minimum preparation and resources, and are perfect for use in mainstream and specialist classrooms,individual tuition sessions or as homework assignments.
100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers: Supporting Students with Autism by
Publication Date: 2016
For students at secondary school, each day brings a different set of challenges to be faced - especially for the increasing number of young people diagnosed with autism. Not only do secondary students have to contend with the anxieties that come with adolescence, they also have to learn to cope with increasingly difficult work across numerous subject areas, and the added pressure of exams.This book helps teachers develop subtle learning strategies that will help create an inclusive, quality teaching environment where pupils with autism can be supported during this time of change. It breaks down the key areas ofpotential difficulty and offers step-by-step strategies, ideas, case studies and links to resources in a style that is easy and accessible. Key topics include transition, assessment, anxiety support, behaviour, social skills and communication, and teasing and bullying. 100 Ideas for Secondary Teachers: Supporting Students with Autism is the ultimate troubleshooting guide that every secondary school teacher should have to hand.
Differentiation: eBooks available (cont.)
Learning Differentiated Curriculum Design in Higher Education by
Publication Date: 2019
As the complexity of 21st century disciplines has increased it has become necessary to rethink the design and delivery of learning to more effectively serve the diverse needs and learning styles of students in higher education. While instructional design and instructional technologies have advanced quickly, the processes of curriculum design have fallen behind. This book presents a comprehensive, systematic approach to the development of curricula in higher education in which each component is configured to optimize learning. The approach is based in an analysis of the psychophysics of the learner and employs theories of learning, instruction, and environment to design each component. The result of this process is the development of curricula that demonstrate optimal design attributes, remove barriers to learning, and expedite the learning. By presenting methods that provide practical, effective and efficient strategies to ensure an inclusive curriculum for all learners, this book will prove invaluable for higher education leaders, practitioners, and curriculum designers.
Fair Isn't Always Equal by
Publication Date: 2018
Differentiated instruction is a nice idea, but what happens when it comes to assessing and grading students? What's both fair and leads to real student learning? An internationally recognized expert on grading practices, Rick Wormeli first examined these questions 10 years ago in the first edition of Fair Isn't Always Equal. In this thoroughly updated second edition, Rick provides a catalyst for serious reflection on current grading and assessment practices in differentiated classrooms. Coherent and effective standards-based grading practices for a high-stakes, accountability-focused world is also outlined. Recognizing the importance of having a shared school vision for assessment and grading, Rick addresses the challenges for teachers and administrators alike. Middle- and high-school educators will easily recognize real examples and gray areas of grading. Rick tackles important and sometimes controversial assessment and grading issues constructively, incorporating modern pedagogy and the challenges of working with diverse groups of students. New sections address sports eligibility, honor roll, descriptive feedback techniques, and gifted/talented students, and chapters on test questions, redos/retakes, grading scales, and grading effort and behavior have been revised extensively. This important book clearly explains the principles behind best grading practices so that you're ready for all grading questions or scenarios that you may encounter in your classrooms and schools.
Differentiation in the Elementary Grades by
Publication Date: 2017
In this comprehensive resource for elementary school teachers, Kristina J. Doubet and Jessica A. Hockett explore how to use differentiated instruction to help students be more successful learners--regardless of background, native language, learning preference, or motivation. They explain how to Create a healthy classroom community in which students' unique qualities and needs are as important as the ones they have in common. Translate curriculum into manageable and meaningful learning goals that are fit to be differentiated. Use pre-assessment and formative assessment to uncover students' learning needs, tailor tasks accordingly, and ensure that students are "getting it." Provide interactive learning experiences that encourage students to engage with both the content and one another. Present students with avenues to take in, process, and produce knowledge that appeal to their varied interests and learning preferences. Navigate potential roadblocks to differentiation. Each chapter provides a plethora of practical tools, templates, and strategies for a variety of subject areas developed by and for real teachers. Whether you're new to differentiated instruction or looking to expand your repertoire of DI strategies, Differentiation in the Elementary Grades will show you classroom-tested ways to better engage students and help them succeed every day. Includes URL and password for free downloadable forms.
Also available as a print book.