Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Staff Resources: Print Books available on Effective Questioning
Visible Learning for Teachers: maximizing impact on learning by
Publication Date: 2011
In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learning synthesised the results of more than 15 years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teachers takes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learning to any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step by step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom. This book: - Links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation - Champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up - Offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement - Includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution - Now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 - Comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management. Visible Learning for Teachers is a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?
How to improve discussion & questioning practices by
Publication Date: 2004
Sandra Schurr applied her special creative talent to this major aspect of classroom teaching and came up with a collection of materials and activities that all teachers/teams can use to sharpen their skills in ways that will involve students and increase achievement. Components include: Several articles that will raise questions, provide ideas, and encourage reflection on existing practices; Tools and techniques for conducting effective discussions and improving critical thinking and questioning skills; Background information, complete directions, and a feedback tool for measuring the activity's success; A self-evaluation of participants' perceptions of kit content; and A post-test requiring participants to apply what they've learned. This kit is a true "do-it-yourself" staff development experience that will help teachers sharpen their instructional practices and improve students' learning with no outside help required!
Questioning for Classroom Discussion by
Publication Date: 2015
What type of questioning invigorates and sustains productive discussions? That's what Jackie Acree Walsh and Beth Dankert Sattes ask as they begin a passionate exploration of questioning as the beating heart of thoughtful discussions. Questioning and discussion are important components of classroom instruction that work in tandem to push learning forward and move students from passive participants to active meaning-makers. Walsh and Sattes argue that the skills students develop through questioning and discussion are critical to academic achievement, career success, and active citizenship in a democratic society. They also have great potential to engage students at the highest levels of thinking and learning. The extent to which this potential is realized, of course, depends on individual teachers who embrace these practices, make them their own, and realize that this process requires a true partnership with students. With that in mind, Questioning for Classroom Discussion presents and analyzes the DNA of productive discussions--teacher-guided, small-group, and student-driven.
Questioning sequences in the classroom by
Publication Date: 2014
Ask targeted questions to enhance students’ reasoning skills and increase rigor in classrooms. Use a four-phase questioning sequence to help students make claims, build sound arguments, and provide evidence to support their points. You’ll discover how to coordinate sequences to elicit students’ prior knowledge, prompt the discovery of new information, and deepen and extend students’ learning in all content areas.
Article: Best Practice Strategies for Effective Use of Questions as a Teaching Tool - by Toyin Tofade, Jamie Elsner & Stuart T. Haines
Abstract: Questions have long been used as a teaching tool by teachers and preceptors to assess students’ knowledge, promote comprehension, and stimulate critical thinking. Well-crafted questions lead to new insights, generate discussion, and promote the comprehensive exploration of subject matter. Poorly constructed questions can stifle learning by creating confusion, intimidating students, and limiting creative thinking. Teachers most often ask lower-order, convergent questions that rely on students’ factual recall of prior knowledge rather than asking higher-order, divergent questions that promote deep thinking, requiring students to analyze and evaluate concepts. This review summarizes the taxonomy of questions, provides strategies for formulating effective questions, and explores practical considerations to enhance student engagement and promote critical thinking. These concepts can be applied in the classroom and in experiential learning environments.
Beyond Penguins Article: Questioning Techniques: Research-Based Strategies for Teachers
Questioning techniques are a heavily used, and thus widely researched, teaching strategy. Research indicates that asking questions is second only to lecturing. Teachers typically spend anywhere from 35 to 50 percent of their instructional time asking questions. But are these questions effective in raising student achievement? How can teachers ask better questions of their students? How can current educational research inform practice?
Effective Questioning: eBooks available
Exemplary Classroom Questioning (ebook) by
Publication Date: 2011
Exemplary Classroom Questioning describes how to organize a classroom environment that supports questioning. Marie Menna Pagliaro presents a research-based analytic approach to effective teacher practices when delivering questions and responding tostudents' answers and emphasizes how to teach students to think critically and become involved in constructing their own questions. This book provides numerous questioning examples and a coaching rubric that allows readers to assess present questioning skill mastery and improve performance.
The Power of Questioning (ebook) by
Publication Date: 2015
This pedagogical picture book is a powerful tool in a small package. The authors of The Power of Questioning invite you to nurture the potential for learning that grows out of children's irrepressible urges to ask questions. The book's foundation is a three-part instructional model, Powerful Practices, grounded in questioning, investigation, and assessment. To bring the model to life, the authors provide vivid pictures as well as links to special videos and audio recordings. You can actually hear teachers and students engage in questioning and watch two easy-to-adapt examples (involving plants and life cycles) of the model in action. Then, you can implement new strategies right away in your own classroom, regardless of grade or topic. Both you and your students will learn how to question effectively, making investigations more engaging. The book also illustrates how to integrate state standards, including the Next Generation Science Standards, the Common Core State Standards, and STEM education practices. The Power of Questioning is a fresh, lively source of strategies both you and your students will enjoy. As the authors—both veteran educators—point out, the elementary science classroom is the perfect place to take advantage of natural curiosity as part of the learning process.