Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Marzano books available in our collection
Other Hattie books available in our collection
Understanding by Design books available in our collection
Marzano: The New Art and Science of Teaching
The New Art and Science of Teaching by
Publication Date: 2017
In this expanded volume, Marzano identifies ten design areas within three categories of teaching - (1) feedback, (2) content, and (3) context - that form a road map for K-12 teachers' lesson and unit planning.
These design areas include: providing and communicating clear learning goals (1); using assessments (1); conducting direct instruction lessons (2); conducting practicing and deepening lessons (2); conducting knowledge application lessons (2); using strategies that appear in all types of lessons (2); using engagement strategies (3); implementing rules and procedures (3); building relationships (3); and communicating high expectations (3). Within these ten design areas, Marzano explores forty-three categories of instructional strategies that contain more than 330 specific classroom strategies educators can implement for optimal student learning. Each chapter provides guidance for planning changes and highlights current education practices to put the strategies in place.
Readers will: explore more than 330 classroom strategies; discover specific mental states and processes learners need in order to reach peak academic success; gain a general framework to help in planning what classroom strategies to use to foster specific student learning outcomes; analyze the behavioural evidence that proves strategies are producing the desired effects; and study the state of the modern standards movement and what changes are necessary in K-12 education for it to reach the next level of effectiveness.
Hattie: Visible Learning for Teachers
Visible Learning for Teachers by
Publication Date: 2012
In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learning synthesised the results of more than 15 years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teachers takes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learning to any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step by step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom.
- Links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation
- Champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up
- Offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement
- Includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution
- Now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900
- Comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management.
Visible Learning for Teachers is a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?
Click below to find resources on different pedagogy topics
Browse the Ebsco eBook Education Collection
Click below to browse and search the collection:
The Ebsco eBook Education Collection features more than 4,000 quality eBooks supporting leaders and faculty in the education discipline. Titles range from introductory texts for undergraduate coursework to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars. Also included are support materials for teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behaviour and dynamics.
All titles are available with unlimited user access, so you don't have to worry about someone else returning a book before you can read it. Easily accessible while connected to the Lowther network and on-campus. For off-campus access, please contact the library. Create an account to save resources and bookmarks for future use, or download Full Text PDFs to read offline.
You will need to download Adobe Digital Editions in order to view these eBooks offline. Alternatively, you can install the EbscoHost app on your iPad or tablet: for iOs via the App Store or for Android via GooglePlay.
Resources to support the teaching of writing
Resource List: Teaching Writing
A collection of resources to aid in teaching writing. The focus is mainly within the context of Secondary School, however some resources feature Primary or Higher Education, which could be useful to your practice. Not just for English teachers, this collection includes resources for teaching writing within the context of a Science or Maths class.
Resources to support student engagement
Resource List: Student Engagement
A collection of resources to aid in student engagement. Various resources provide tools and strategies to try in any K-12 classroom, plus discussions around combating demotivation and disengagement.