LibGuides: History: Year 11 History

World War One and the Treaty of Versailles

Women on the Home Front in World War I
This site from the BBC deals with the ways in which life changed for women during and after the war, and the impact that it had on the fight for suffrage.
Life on the German Home Front
An essay on how German society changed during the First World War.

The First World War Poetry Digital Archive
From Oxford University, this website contains over 7000 resources, including poetry, film footage, photographs, audio files, and war publications such as newspapers and propaganda posters.
War Art Schemes of World War I
This page from the Imperial War Museum in London discusses the war art schemes as well as providing copies of a range of works.
Australian Art of World War I
Link to the Australian War Memorial's collection of artworks from the First World War. Many have images attached. Use the drop down menus on the left to limit the results by artist, location, or subject matter.

Australia & WW1 on Ergo
Contains an overview of various aspects of World War 1 and links to primary sources from the State Library of Victoria's collections.
State Library of New South Wales
Find digitised primary sources, including cartoons, diaries, letters, maps, posters and photographs. Can be searched by keyword, item format and theme.
Australian War Memorial Collections
Online resources including photographs, maps, artworks, diaries, letters and much more. Includes The Official History of Australia in the War of 1914–1918, a 12-volume series covering Australia’s involvement in the First World War.
National Archives of Australia
The National Archives of Australia have digitised the service records of all Australian WW1 personnel. Service records can tell you a lot about a person who served in WW1. They will include details of where they were stationed, any injuries they may have sustained, letters to their next of kin, and details of any awards or medals.

Postcard to father at the front

Postcard: Lots of love & fond kisses to dear father at the front. Source: State Library of Victoria

Treaty of Versailles, 1919
A good overview of the Treaty and what it meant for Germany from the US Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Documenting Democracy - Treaty of Versailles
A digitised copy of the original signed document, courtesy of the Museum of Australian Democracy. Includes a discussion of the Treaty's history and significance to Australia.

Trove Image Search
Search across the collections of Australian libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations. Use the 'Available online' option below the search box to only view digitised images.
World War 1 in Photos: The Atlantic
Photographic essay covering various events and themes of the war including The Western Front, Technology, Aerial Warfare and Global Conflict.

The signing of the treaty of peace at Versailles, 28 June 1919 by Joseph Finnemore. Australian War Memorial.

When Field Marshal Haig unveils his new strategy to move his drinks cabinet six inches closer to Berlin, Blackadder volunteers to be an Official War Artist, not realising that a commission to paint a cover for thoroughly absorbent propaganda magazine King and Country is just a ruse for a highly-dangerous secret mission.

Year Published: 1989

Duration: 29:04

Trove Maps Search
Search across the collections of Australian libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations. Use the 'Available Online' option below the search box to only view digitised maps.
Australian Army Trench Maps
This site contains the Army History Unit’s collection of trench maps of the Western Front focussing on battlefields where Australia fought.
Atlas of World War 1: Wikimedia Commons
A collection of freely usable maps showing Europe before and after the war, as well as the major battles that took place.

To find books about the First World War, search the LRC catalogue by subject for the term: World War, 1914-1918. Below are a selection of titles from the collection.

1914-1918 : the history of the First World War by David Stevenson
Call Number: Global Conflicts 940.3 STE
ISBN: 071819795X
Publication Date: 2004
Voices from the Trenches by Noel Carthew
Call Number: Biographies 940.481 CAR
ISBN: 186436744X
Publication Date: 2002
Pozières by Scott Bennett
Call Number: Biographies 940.4 BEN
ISBN: 1921640359
Publication Date: 2011
Zero hour : the Anzacs on the Western Front by Leon Davidson
Call Number: Global Conflicts 940.3 STE
ISBN: 1921656077
Publication Date: 2010
International relations 1914-1995 by Tony Rea; John Wright
Call Number: Politics 327.17 REA
ISBN: 9780199171675
Publication Date: 1997

World War 1 in Photos: The Atlantic
Photographic essay covering various events and themes of the war including The Western Front, Technology, Aerial Warfare and Global Conflict.

Bloody Sunday

Bloody Sunday
Basic overview from Britannica.

Russia in 1905
A powerpoint presentation from the University of Warwick, discussing the causes and outcomes of the 1905 Revolution.

Russian Revolution of 1905
From the Library of Congress, this page includes links to newspaper articles from 1905 as well as search recommendations.
The Russian Upheaval
Bloody Sunday as reported in the Melbourne newspaper, The Argus, on 25 January 1905.

Russian Graphic Art
A collection of illustrated magazines dating to the 1905 revolution. Held in the rare books and manuscripts library at Yale University.

"Bloody Sunday. Shooting workers near the Winter Palace January 9, 1905." Ivan Vladimirov

Russia and the USSR, 1905-1991 by Philip Ingram; Gecko Limited, Staff (Illustrator)
Call Number: Humanities 947.08 ING
ISBN: 9780521568678
Publication Date: 1997-04-17
Russia and the USSR 1905-56 by John Laver
Call Number: Humanities 947.084 LAV
ISBN: 0340620242
Publication Date: 1997

Weimar Republic and the Rise of the Nazis

Germany 1918-1945
A timeline of key events in Germany and the Weimar Republic between 1918 and 1945.
The Weimar Republic
An overview of the Weimar Republic from History.com
Challenges to the Weimar Republic
A 15 minute podcast episode discussing the Weimar Republic and the challenges that it faced from its inception.
The Rise of Adolf Hitler
From the BBC, this article details Hitler's early life.

Weimar Republic primary sources
Provides primary sources on a range of topics relating to social life in the Weimar Republic.
Life for women and the family in Nazi Germany
Introduction to the Nazi's family policies during the 1930s and 1940s, and the impact that it had on the German population, especially women.

The signing of the treaty of peace at Versailles, 28 June 1919 by Joseph Finnemore. Australian War Memorial.

German Expressionism
A website from the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Click on a place to view Weimar era art from a range of German artists.
The Bauhaus
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, this page gives an overview of the Bauhaus, including images of art and design pieces created by Bauhaus members.

Imperial and Weimar Germany, 1890-1933 by John Laver
Call Number: Global Conflicts 943.085 LAV
ISBN: 9780340571675
Germany 1918-1945: democracy to dictatorship by Anne McCallum
Call Number: Global Conflicts 943.085 MCC
ISBN: 9780858596160
Publication Date: 1992
Weimar and Nazi Germany by Stephen J Lee
Call Number: Global Conflicts 943.085 LEE
ISBN: 9780435309206
Publication Date: 1996

Weimar Republic

World War 2 and the Holocaust

Hitler's place in history
Transcript of a 2005 lecture about the fall of Hitler, and his significance in 20th century history.
WWII History
A little American-centric, this site from the National WWII Museum in New Orleans offers an excellent range of information, including overviews, bibliographies, statistics, and a detailed timeline.
The Holocaust
Provides an extensive amount of information on the Holocaust, including maps and details of concentration camps, biographies of victims, and reactions around the world.

What was life like in London during World War II?
From the Museum of London, this site discusses rationing, identity bracelets, air raid shelters, and the evacuation of children.
Women in World War II
A discussion of Australian women entering the workforce during the war.
Daily life in the concentration camps
Provides links to a range of resources, including oral histories, discussing daily life in concentration camps.
Home WWII
Life on the home front in Australia during WWII.

They Drew Fire
An online exhibition of art from US military artists during the second world war.
World War II Jukebox
A website featuring music popular during World War II.
Culture in the Third Reich
A brief introduction to culture under the Third Reich from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

To find books about World War II, search the LRC catalogue by subject for the term: World War -- 1939-1945. Below are a selection of titles from the collection.

State of Deception by Steven Luckert; Susan Bachrach
Call Number: Global Conflicts 940.54 LUC
ISBN: 9780896047143
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
The Holocaust by Peter Neville; Kathy Baxendale (Illustrator); Richard Brown (Contribution by); David Smith (Contribution by)
Call Number: Global Conflicts 940.531503 NEV
ISBN: 9780521595018
Publication Date: 1999-06-24
Understanding the Holocaust Vol. 1 by George Feldman
Call Number: Global Conflicts 940.5318 UND
ISBN: 0787617415
Publication Date: 1998

Essential Documents

VCAA Study Design

Search Britannica Online here

Search the National Library of Australia (Trove)

Search Trove for Primary sources, i.e. photgraphs, diary entries, court documents etc.

Search Trove