| Nazi Period 1933 - 1945 |
"The political movement and ideology of the German Nazi party led by Adolf Hitler from 1920–45. Like other fascist theories, national socialism asserted that a nation's salvation and prosperity required a national unity directed by a single-party, all powerful state led by a dynamic leader (Führer)."
Reference: Sheldon, Garrett Ward. “Nazism.” Encyclopedia of Political Thought, Facts On File, 2001. History, online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=276547&itemid=WE53&articleId=245636. Accessed 15 July 2018
Image Source: https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/what-groups-of-people-did-the-nazis-target
| Groups in Society |
EdExcel History: Changes to women in Nazi Germany
Holocaust Encyclopedia Women in the Third Reich
Nazi policies that suppressed women
Propoganda poster: recruitment of women into the airforce. Image Source:
Propoganda posters: Women in Nazi Germany
BBC Bitesize: Life for workers in Nazi Germany
BBC Bitesize: Employment and living standards in Nazi Germany
School History UK: DAF German Labour Front 1933 - 1939
The Avalong Project: Program of the National Socialist Workers' Party
BBC Bitesize: Nazi aims towards the young
Education of young people in Germany Children's picture book Trau keinem Fuch in gruener Heid, und keinem Jud bei seinem Eid ("Don't trust a fox whate'er you do, nor yet the oath of any Jew.")
Facing History and Ourselves: League of German Girls
Holocaust Encyclopedia Hitler Youth
Holocaust Explained: Education
National Holocaust Museum UK : Femal Hitler Youth
National Holocaust Museum UK - Hitler Youth
Hierarchies of the Hitler Youth - The League of German Girls
A detailed overview of the Hitler Youth movement. Many links to sites about Nazism and images: The Hitler Youth Jungsturm Adolf Hitler
Article followed by 11 source documents: Hitler Youth
Pupils at the Goldschmidt School
Image Source: Females in the Third Reich
| Minority Groups |
Article: The Conversation article: How the structures of Nazi Germany created a bystander society
Centre for Holocaust Education: Non-Jewish victims of Nazi persecution
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Classification system in Nazi concentration camps
Life in Nazi Germany Revision Guide
Memorial and Museum of Auschwitz-Birkenau: Categories of prisoners
Memorial and Museum of Auschwitz-Birkenau: Other ethnic groups
Midwest Center for Holocaust Education: Primary Source Documents
Propoganda Posters: Life in Nazi controlled Germany
Wikipedia: Nazi concentration camp badges
BBC Bitesize: Nazi poicies towards the Christian church
Holocaust Encyclopedia: The German Churches and the Nazi State
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Protestant Churches in Nazi Germany
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Theologan Dietrich Bornhoffer
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Pastor Martin Niemöller
Wikipedia: Religions in Nazi Germany
| Als die Nazis die Kommunisten holten, habe ich geschwiegen, ich war ja kein Kommunist. Als sie die Sozialdemokraten einsperrten, habe ich geschwiegen, ich war ja kein Sozialdemokrat. Als sie die Gewerkschafter holten, habe ich geschwiegen, ich war ja kein Gewerkschafter. Als sie mich holten, gab es keinen mehr, der protestieren konnte. |
First they came for the Communists Then they came for the Socialists Then they came for the trade unionists Then they came for the Jews Then they came for me |
Arolsen Archiv: Prisoner groups in Nazi concentration camps - How the Nazis stimatized their victims
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Communists
Anne Frank House: Murder of the disabled
Australian Human Rights Commission: The sick and disabled under National Socialism
Facing History Ourselves: "Unworthy to live"
Jewish Virtual Library: Nazi persecution of the mentally and physically disabled
Holocaust Memorial Day Trust: Disabled people
Opinion piece, NY Times: The Nazis first victims were the disabled
Study Notes: Weimar and Nazi Germany (1918-1939) Treatment of disabled people
Wikipedia: Aktion T2
The Conversation: Disabled people were victims too
Article: Time Magazine - How the pink triangle was reclaimed for LGBT Pride
Facing History and Ourselves: Paragraph 175 and the origins of the pink triangle
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Gay men and lesbians under the Nazi regime
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Lesbians under the Nazi regime
Pride in Londong: Remembering the pink triangle
Sydney Jewish Museum: The story behind the pink triangle
Wiener Holocaust Library: Persecution of gay people in Nazi Germany
Facing History and Ourselves: Controlling universities in Nazi Germany
Instytut Pileckiego: European intellectual elites under German occupation 1939 - 1945
Wikipedia: Intelligenzaktion
What groups did the Nazi regime target? Click on the image above to find out.
German Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma About the words Sinti and Roma
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Genocide of European Roma (Gypsies) 1939 - 1945
Holocaust Memorial Day Trust The Roma genocide
Memorial and Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau: Sinti and Roma in Auschwitz
The National WW2 Museum, New Orleans The genocide of the Roma
The Wiener Holocaust Museum: Forgotten victims: The Nazi genocide of the Sinti and Roma
United Nations: Forgotten victims: Nazi genocide of the Sinti and Roma
US Holocaust Museum: Roma and Sinti pdf
Image Source: https://www.sintiundroma.org/en/introduction/gypsy-images/
| Cultural Expression |
A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust: Degenerate Art
Facing History and Ourselves: Impact of Nazi propoganda
Florida Atlantic University LibGuide: Online Primary Sources- Nazi propoganda
Holocaust Encyclopedia: Nazi propoganda
Cornell University: German Cabaret
"Music and the Third Reich", Musical Offerings, Vol. 3, No. 2, Article 3, 2012
Music and the Holocaust: Music in the Third Reich
Wikipedia: Music in Nazi Germany
Image Source: https://holocaustmusic.ort.org/politics-and-propaganda/third-reich/
