LibGuides: History: Revolutions

Russian Revolution

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Russian Revolution resources
This page provides a range of useful primary and secondary sources relating to the Russian Revolution.
The Bolsheviks
This is an index to biographies of the leading players in the revolution in 1917. The index is part of the Marxist Internet Archive, a webpage created by Marxist volunteers, so be aware of bias!
Beginner's Guide to Marxism
Useful for Outcome 1, this brief article has links to Marx's most pertinent works on the Marxist Internet Archive - again be aware of bias!

Alpha History: Russian Revolution
This fantastic series of websites is made by an Australian historian. The Russian Revolution page includes: historiography, concept maps, quotes, video clips, timelines and a who's who.
The October Revolution
This page from the Marxist Internet Archive describes the events of the 25-26th October 1917, as well as providing a glossary of the political parties and people involved.
The History Guide: lecture 5 - Russian Revolution
This lecture by Stephan Kreis explains in detail what happened in February 1917, the month of the revolution.

Russian Revolution documents
A comprehensive array of excerpts from primary documents, including newspaper articles. Divided into sections, covering the years 1903 to 1920.
The Russian Revolution and the Soviet Union
Includes links to a wide variety of primary sources and photographs on Russia from the 1890s to 1939.

Video: Revolting Russian Revolution

Sketches and songs about the Russian Revolution in 1917.

Publication Year: 2017

Duration: 31:38

American Revolution

Thomas Jefferson: Freedom of religion podcast
From the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation website, Thomas Jefferson speaks about his statute of Virginia for religious freedom, as delivered here by Bill Barker. July 17, 2006
The translation of radical ideas into radical actions : the American Revolution and revolutionary Philadelphia
This thesis by Honours student Angela Skeggs is essential reading for historiography. It looks at the two schools of thought (the progressive and the Neo-whigs) and how they view the revolution as being mainly motivated by economic ideas or political ideas.

The Boston Tea Party, 1773
This eyewitness history webpage explains in a clear way one cause of the revolution : the Boston Tea Party.
Reasons for the Revolution
An overview of the colonists' complaints, with supporting primary documentation, from Colonial Williamsburg.

The American Revolution: an everyday perspective
This website from the New York University Library looks at how the revolution tried to make a new society, and the impact of the revolution people's way of life. The pages include document analysis questions (of a primary source) that would be useful for several Outcomes.
American archives: documents of the American Revolution 1774-1776
This website, facilitated by Northern Illinois University, is a searchable database of primary sources about the Revolution.
United States history sites
Very comprehensive range of resources for American History, including a big section on the Revolution and the founding documents.
The Charters of Freedom
From the National Archives in Washington D.C., this site provides information about and high resolution images of the founding documents, and the impact that they had.

Video: Sons of Liberty

This six-part drama series follows a defiant and radical group of young men - Sam Adams, John Adams, Paul Revere, John Hancock and Dr. Joseph Warren - as they band together in secrecy to change the course of history and make America a nation. Calling themselves the Sons of Liberty, they light the spark that ignited America's revolution. While many of their names have become legendary, this group of young rebels didn't start off as noble patriots. They were a new generation of young American men from varied backgrounds, struggling to find purpose in their lives. They were looking for equality, but they found something greater: independence.

Production Year: 2015

Duration: 42:19

Great books available in the NCC

Founding Fathers by Encyclopaedia Britannica Publishers, Inc. Staff
Call Number: 973.309 FOU
Analysing the Russian Revolution by Richard Malone
Call Number: Global Conflicts 947.084 MAL
History of the Russian Revolution by Leon Trotsky; Ahmed Shawki (Introduction by)
Call Number: Big History 947.0841 TRO
The American Revolution by Robert J. Allison
Call Number: American History 973.3 ALL
ISBN: 9780195312959
Publication Date: 2011-02-14

How to analyse primary sources

American Archives
This webpage has worksheets you can download and fill in to make sure you have analysed a primary source correctly.
Ergo student templates
These templates can be filled in to ensure that your research on primary sources is thorough.

Online Referencing Tool

Click here to go to BibMe online citation creator

VCAA documents

VCAA study design
This study design covers all the VCE history subjects - scroll to the bottom of the document for lists of useful Revolutions resources.