LibGuides: Philosophy: Year 12 Philosophy: Contemporary Debates in Philosophy

What is Philosophy for?

Audio Resources: Unit 3 Outcome 1 - Minds and Bodies

Lecture: J.J.C Smart, 'Sensations and Brain Processes' - VCE Philosophy (Part 1)
This video is the first part of a summary of J.J.C Smart's, 'Sensations and Brain Processes' for the VCE Philosophy course 2019-23.
Lecture: J.J.C Smart, 'Sensations and Brain Processes' - VCE Philosophy (Part 2)
Lecture: Rene Descartes 'Meditations on First Philosophy' - VCE Philosophy (Part 1)
This video provides a summary of Rene Descartes', "Meditations" Book 1 for the VCE Philosophy course 2019-23.
Lecture: Rene Descartes, 'Meditations on First Philosophy' - VCE Philosophy (Part 2)
Audiobook: 'Meditations on First Philosophy', by René Descartes (1596 - 1650)
Translated by John Veitch. Via Librivox - books in the public domain. Ms Oliva suggests you read/listen to Meditations 1, 2 and 6.

Audio Resources: Unit 3 Outcome 2 - Personal Identity

Lecture: John Locke 'An Essay on Human Understanding' (Part 1)
This video is a summary of John Locke's, 'On Identity and Diversity', for the VCE Philosophy 2019-23 course.
Lecture: John Locke 'An Essay on Human Understanding' (Part 2)
This video provides a visual revision of John Locke's examples and thought experiments in 'On Identity and Diversity’.
Audiobook: 'A Treatise of Human Nature' by David Hume
Via Librivox - books in the public domain.
Lecture: Meredith Michaels 'On Personal Identity'

Audio Resources: Unit 4 Outcome 1 - The Good Life

Audiobook: 'The Nicomachean Ethics' by Aristotle
Translated by Thomas Taylor. Via Librivox - books in the public domain. Ms Oliva suggests you listen to Books 1 and 2.
Lecture: Aristotle Book 1
This video provides a summary of Aristotle's, 'Nichomachean Ethics' Book 1 for the 2019-23 VCE Philosophy course.
Lecture: Aristotle Book 2
Lecture: Gorgias Part 1
This video provides a summary of Plato's 'Gorgias' for the 2019-23 VCE Philosophy course.
Lecture: Gorgias Part 2
Lecture: Nietzsche - 'On the Natural History of Morals'
This video provides a summary of Nietzsche's 'Beyond Good and Evil: On the Natural History of Morals' for the 2019-23 VCE Philosophy course.

Useful Resources

Aeon - A World of Ideas
Since 2012, Aeon has established itself as a unique digital magazine, publishing some of the most profound and provocative thinking on the web. We ask the big questions and find the freshest, most original answers, provided by leading thinkers on science, philosophy, society and the arts.
Wireless Philosophy
Learn about Philosophy with professors from Yale, Stanford, Oxford, MIT, and more! 130+ animated videos. An official Khan Academy Partner.
Crash Course Philosophy
In 46 episodes, Hank Green will teach you philosophy! This course is based on an introductory Western philosophy college level curriculum.
ABC Podcast: The Philosopher's Zone
The simplest questions often have the most complex answers. The Philosopher's Zone is your guide through the strange thickets of logic, metaphysics and ethics.
Airs Sunday 5:30pm; repeated Sunday 5.30am. Listen for free on your mobile device on the ABC Listen app, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts or your favourite podcast app.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Existential Comics
A web comic about Philosophy! Featured in the New Philosopher magazine

Playlist: Western Philosophy

The School of Life: Western Philosophy
This series of 35 videos from The School of Life discusses Western Philosophy.

Philosophy Units 3 & 4: Curriculum alignment

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority
This Lowther Hall Anglican Grammar School Libguide supports the VCAA Curriculum Guidelines.
VCE Study Design: Philosophy
Details on areas of study, outcomes and assessment for Philosophy Units 1-4: 2019-2024.

Quick links to other Philosophy topics

New Philosopher Magazine

New Philosopher Magazine. For curious people interested in the fundamental issues facing humankind.

We subscribe to both digital and print versions of New Philosopher Magazine. Visit the Nora Collisson Centre to borrow the print editions, or click the link below to access the digital version.

New Philosopher Magazine
Click here to see what print editions we have available to borrow in the NCC.
New Philosopher Magazine: Digital Access
Click through for links and passwords for digital access to New Philosopher Magazine.

You will need to log in with your usual Lowther Hall username and password in order to access the above document. Please email us if you need any assistance.

Resources available in the NCC

Think: A Compelling Introduction to Philosophy by Simon Blackburn
ISBN: 9780192100245
Written expressly for "anyone who believes there are big questions out there, but does not know how to approach them," Think provides a sound framework for exploring the most basic themes of philosophy, and for understanding how major philosophers have tackled the questions that have pressed themselves most forcefully on human consciousness.
The Philosophy Book by DK
ISBN: 9780756668617
Using innovative graphics and creative typography to help demystify hard-to-grasp concepts for those new to philosophy, The Philosophy Book cuts through the haze of misunderstanding, untangles knotty theories, and sheds light on abstract concepts. Aimed at anyone with a general interest in how our social, political, and ethical ideas are formed, as well as students of philosophy and politics, The Philosophy Book breathes new life to a subject that is often regarded as esoteric and academic.

Playlist: Eastern Philosophy

The School of Life: Eastern Philosophy
In this series of 9 videos, The School of Life covers Eastern Philosophy.

Philosophy: Year 12 Philosophy: Contemporary Debates in Philosophy