Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lowther Hall Nora Collisson Centre (Library): Remote Community: Relax and Rejuvenate

Read a Book

What better way to relax and escape than reading? Read a library book or find a book in your house that you've always meant to read or that a family member recommends. Check out our collection of eBooks, digital graphic novels and audiobooks on the app Sora.

Can't decide what to read? Check out our All About Reading page for suggestions.

Make a book suggestion! We are always adding new books to our digital collection, but if there's a particular book you're keen to read, send us an email and we'll try to get it for you!

Looking for even more audiobooks? Audible have made hundreds of their audiobooks available for free. Check out all the available titles here.

Watch a Movie

Watch! We've curated some movie collections on ClickView. Log into ClickView and enjoy some downtime with your family.

Need help? If you need guidance using ClickView, check out our handy guide to using ClickView.

Make a suggestion! Is there a movie you're hanging out to see? Email us and we'll see if we can add it!

Studio Ghibli Collection

Musicals

Live for musicals? Look no further for classic musicals and more recent toe-tapping gems.

Essential Comedies

From 'Legally Blonde' to 'Zoolander', plus classics like 'Bringing Up Baby' and 'Some Like it Hot'!

Indigenous Focus

Japanese Films

Studying Japanese? Brush up with our Japanese film picks. Don't forget to also check out our Studio Ghibli collection for even more anime.

Family Friendly

 

Australian Gems

Music Films, Biopics & Documentaries

From biopics about Mozart or Freddie Mercury, to musical comedy gold 'Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga', to documentaries such as 'Buena Vista Social Club' and 'One Direction: This Is Us'.

Classic Films

Classic doesn't mean boring and aged! These films are classics for a reason! See James Dean at his prime in 'Rebel Without a Cause' or watch for the innovative use of technicolor in 'The Wizard of Oz'.

LGBTQIA+ Films & Documentaries

We recommend the local doco 'Gayby Baby' about Rainbow Families, 'Island Queens' about the Tiwi Island Sistergirls, and our favourite gay romance 'Love, Simon'.

Book-to-Film

 

Hitchcock Retrospective

     

Log into ClickView, then click on the boxes above to view our curated movie collections.

Listen and Relax

Put on your favourite relaxing or feel-good music and take a breather.

Alternatively, click on one of our suggestions below:

Explore a Museum

undefined

Although their doors are currently closed, it's still possible to explore Melbourne Museum from home, get your science fix at Scienceworks, or discover what connects us as humans at the Immigration Museum.

Museum at Home lets you connect, explore and learn more from your favourite museums every day.

Virtual Tours

The Egyptian Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities has released some amazing virtual tours of five different historic sites, with detailed 3-D imagery that allows you to “walk” by clicking hotspots along the floors of the structures.

Explore Egyptian history without leaving home, by visiting:

45 Minute At Home Pilates Class

Puzzles

undefined

Need a new puzzle? Email us! 

Are all three puzzles finished? Let us know and we'll set up some more!

Up for getting active? Or feeling creative?

Click through to our Energise & Exercise page for ideas, videos, tips and tools to keep you active.

Feel like getting creative or crafty? Click through to our Make & Create page for ideas for activities you can do at home.

Storytime

Want to listen to someone read you a story? Click through to all things storytime!

Animal Live Streams

Enjoy nature or animals? Check out these soothing webcams from around the world. If there's nothing interesting happening on screen, track back in the video to see what you can find, or try another stream.

Meditate with Headspace

In stressful times like these, it's important for all of us to take care of our mental health. The Headspace YouTube channel has a range of videos to help you meditate, let go of stress & relax, including a playlist of videos designed to help you sleep.

The Headspace app includes a range of free content, including a 10 day mindfulness beginner's course. Headspace have also released 'Weathering the Storm', which is a free collection of meditation, sleep, and movement exercises designed to help everyone through the current global crisis.

 

And something else!