LibGuides: English: The Great Gatsby

Useful Links

CliffsNotes: The Great Gatsby
Provides a summary and discussion points on themes of the novel.
SparkNotes: The Great Gatsby
A useful study guide from SparkNotes that describes the context and themes of The Great Gatsby.
LitCharts: The Great Gatsby: Study Guide
Provides a summary and analysis of The Great Gatsby. A useful starting point for your thinking about the book.
Vulture: Why I Despise The Great Gatsby
Kathryn Schulz gives some background to Fitzgerald's writing of The Great Gatsby, and in her analysis of the novel, explains why she dislikes it.

Film: The Great Gatsby - directed by Baz Luhrmann (2013)

The Great Gatsby, directed by Baz Luhrmann, follows Fitzgerald-like, would-be writer Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire) as he leaves the Midwest and comes to New York City in the spring of 1922, and era of loosening morals, glittering jazz, bootleg kings, and sky-rocketing stocks. Chasing his own American Dream, Nick lands next door to a mysterious, party-giving millionaire, Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio), and across the bay from his cousin, Daisy (Carey Mulligan), and her philandering, blue-blooded husband, Tom Buchanan (Joel Edgerton). It is thus that Nick is drawn into the captivating world of the super rich, their illusions, loves and deceits. As Nick bears witness, within and without of the world he inhabits, he pens a tale of impossible love, incorruptible dreams and high-octane tragedy, and holds a miror to our own modern times and struggles.

Production Year: 2013

Duration: 2:16:13

Film: The Great Gatsby - directed by Jack Clayton (1974)

A Midwesterner becomes fascinated with his nouveau riche neighbor, who obsesses over his lost love. This 1974 film was directed by Jack Clayton, with a screenplay by Francis Ford Coppola, starring Mia Farrow and Robert Redford as Jay Gatsby.

Production Year: 1974

Duration: 2:17:30

Books available in the NCC

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald
ISBN: 9781922079558
Jay Gatsby is the man who has everything. But one thing will always be out of his reach... Everybody who is anybody is seen at his glittering parties. Day and night his Long Island mansion buzzes with bright young things drinking, dancing and debating his mysterious character. For Gatsby - young, handsome, fabulously rich - always seems alone in the crowd, watching and waiting, though no one knows what for.
The Great Gatsby (eBook) by F Scott Fitzgerald
ISBN: 9781443425148
The Great Gatsby is the tale of Nick Carraway and his mysterious neighbour Jay Gatsby. Drawing Nick into the world of lavish parties that defined the roaring twenties, the charismatic millionaire Gatsby will stop at nothing and spare no expense to capture the heart of his beloved, Daisy, but in so doing sets in motion tragedy that will consume them all.
The Great Gatsby (audiobook) by F. Scott Fitzgerald; William Hope (Narrated by)
ISBN: 9789629549992
The audiobook of the novel, available to download and listen to on your device.
CliffsNotes On Fitzgerald's the Great Gatsby (eBook) by Kate Maurer
ISBN: 9780544181854
CliffsNotes on The Great Gatsby explores F. Scott Fitzgerald's novel of triumph, tragedy, and a classic love triangle in the 1920s. Following the story of a young Midwesterner who's fascinated by the mysterious past and opulent lifestyle of his landlord, this study guide provides summaries and critical commentaries for each chapter within the novel.
Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby: A Reader's Guide (eBook) by Nicolas Tredell
ISBN: 9781441158260
This Reader's Guide provides a comprehensive starting point for study of The Great Gatsby, its historical, intellectual and cultural contexts, offering analyses of its themes, style and structure, providing exemplary close readings, presenting an up-to-date account of its critical reception and examining its afterlife in literature, film and popular culture. It includes points for discussion, suggestions for further study and an annotated guide to relevant reading.
Shmoop Literature Guide: The Great Gatsby (eBook) by Shmoop Staff
ISBN: 9781610622547
Take your understanding of The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald to a whole new level. You'll find thought-provoking character analyses, quotes, summaries, themes, symbols, trivia, and lots of insightful commentary in this Shmoop literature guide.
Summary and Analysis of The Great Gatsby (eBook) by Worth Books
ISBN: 9781504043090
This short summary and analysis of The Great Gatsby includes: historical context; chapter-by-chapter summaries; analysis of the main characters; themes and symbols; important quotes; fascinating trivia; and supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work
F. Scott Fitzgerald at Work: The Making of 'The Great Gatsby' (eBook) by Horst H. Kruse
ISBN: 9780817387709
F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby occupies a preeminent place in American letters. Scholars have argued that Jay Gatsby is, in fact, the embodiment of American culture and social aspiration. Though The Great Gatsby has been studied in detail since its publication, both readers and scholars have continued to speculate about Fitzgerald's sources of inspiration. The essays in F. Scott Fitzgerald at Work examine fresh facts that illuminate the experiences and source materials upon which Fitzgerald based this quintessentially American masterpiece.
How to Analyze the Works of F. Scott Fitzgerald (eBook) by Maggie Combs
ISBN: 9781617876417
This book gives an examination and criticism of four works by Fitzgerald, plus background biographical information. The "how to" approach helps readers identify a thesis and supporting arguments while strengthening critical thinking skills. Chapters 5 provides an overview of The Great Gatsby, and Chapter 6 discusses how to apply historical criticism to the novel.
Student Companion to F. Scott Fitzgerald (eBook) by Linda Claycomb Pelzer
ISBN: 9780313007293
This work examines the fiction of F. Scott Fitzgerald as a critique and chronicle of American society during the Jazz Age.
F. Scott Fitzgerald in the Twenty-First Century (eBook) by Jackson R. Bryer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780817385460
This thought-provoking collection explores significant new facets of an American author of lasting international stature. Bringing together dozens of the world's leading scholars and commentators, the conference and the book celebrate the ever-growing legacy of Fitzgerald's art.
F. Scott Fitzgerald: New Perspectives (eBook) by Jackson R. Bryer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780820343549
This collection of essays presents fresh insights into Fitzgerald's writing, discussing neglected texts and approaching familiar works from new perspectives. This volume also features four personal essays by Fitzgerald's friends Budd Schulberg, Frances Kroll Ring, publisher Charles Scribner III, and writer George Garrett that shed new light on his personal and professional lives.