LibGuides: English: Romeo and Juliet

Useful Links

SparkNotes: Romeo and Juliet
Provides a summary and analysis of Romeo and Juliet.
LitCharts: Romeo and Juliet
A detailed study guide that provides an overview and analysis of the themes and symbols of Romeo and Juliet. From the creators of Sparknotes.
CliffsNotes: Romeo and Juliet
Provides a summary and exploration of Romeo and Juliet, including a map of the relationship between characters and a quiz to help you study the text.
No Fear Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet
No Fear Shakespeare puts Shakespeare's language side-by-side with a facing-page translation into modern English—the kind of English people actually speak today.
Podcast: Approaching Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet
This lecture on Romeo and Juliet tackles the issue of the spoiler-chorus, in an already-too-familiar play. This podcast is suitable for school and college students. From Oxford University's Faculty of English Language and Literature. Duration: 44 mins.

Romeo and Juliet Overview: Study Guides

Video SparkNotes: Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet summary

Quick and easy synopsis of the Shakespeare play, Romeo and Juliet.

Duration: 9:18

Video: Animated Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet

From the series Shakespeare: The Animated Tales, this is an abridged version of Romeo and Juliet.

Production Year: 1992

Duration: 26:53

Film: Romeo + Juliet - directed by Baz Luhrmann (1996)

Baz Luhrmann helped adapt this classic Shakespearean romantic tragedy for the screen, updating the setting to a post-modern city named Verona Beach.

Production Year: 1996

Duration: 1:51:28

Film: Romeo and Juliet - directed by Franco Zeffirelli (1968)

In the Italian city of Verona, the Montague and the Capulet families are perpetually feuding. When Romeo (Leonard Whiting), a handsome young Montague, disregards convention by attending a Capulet ball, he falls in love with the beautiful Juliet (Olivia Hussey), a Capulet. After a brief courtship, the two elope, creating even greater tension between their families. Italian director Franco Zeffirelli's film is considered one of the best screen versions of Shakespeare's classic love story.

Production Year: 1968

Duration: 2:12:11

Video: Romeo and Juliet at Shakespeare's Globe

Dominic Dromgoole's production brings refreshing clarity to one of Shakespeare's most famous and best-loved tragedies, drawing out the contemporary relevance of this passionate teenage love story. Ellie Kendrick, a truly youthful Juliet, and Adetomiwa Edun, a boyish Romeo, head an excellent cast whose period costumes point to the timelessness of parental disapproval, adolescent temperament, rivalry and violence. Filmed before a live audience at Shakespeare's Globe in the heart of London, its intimate and atmospheric setting adds immediacy and vitality to the humour and passion of Shakespeare's verse.

Production Year: 2009

Duration: 2:51:34

Books available in the NCC

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
ISBN: 9781107615403
The greatest love story in English, William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is a play of star-crossed lovers who take a valiant stand against social convention, with tragic consequences.
Romeo and Juliet (audiobook) by William Shakespeare
ISBN: 9781405697828
BBC Radio series
Shakespeare on Love and Lust (eBook) by Maurice Charney
ISBN: 9780231500067
The complex and sometimes contradictory expressions of love in Shakespeare's works - ranging from the serious to the absurd and back again - arise primarily from his dramatic and theatrical flair rather than from a unified philosophy of love.
Romeo and Juliet: Shakespeare Made Easy (eBook) by Saddleback Educational Publishing
ISBN: 9781602914278
Shakespeare's plays are thought-provoking and complex texts that explore the human themes of romance, deceit, tragedy, comedy, and revenge. These activity guides are designed by teachers for teachers to help students navigate the complexity. Each guide contains a total of 30 activities divided into six sections of four activities and one review. At the end of each guide is a final test, a variety of culminating activities, and an answer key. Each reproducible activity eBook is approximately 68-pages.
Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary by David Crystal; Ben Crystal
ISBN: 9780192737502
The Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary is the first of its kind, a brand new illustrated alphabetical dictionary of all the words and meanings students of Shakespeare need to know. Every word has an example sentence selected from the twelve most studied plays including Macbeth, Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and Henry V. Usage notes and theatre notes provide additional background to Shakespearean times and the performance of his plays. Further support is provided by language panels on select topics like the humours, swearing, and stage directions, and full-colour illustrated thematic spreads on special feature topics from clothes and armour to music and recreation. The dictionary is easy to use with its clear signposting, accessible design, and expertly levelled contemporary look and feel.

Alternative Versions of Romeo and Juliet

No Fear Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare; John Crowther (Editor); SparkNotes Staff
ISBN: 9781586638450
No Fear Shakespeare gives you the complete text of Romeo and Juliet the left-hand page, side-by-side with an easy-to-understand translation on the right. Each No Fear Shakespeare contains: the complete text of the original play, a line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language, a complete list of characters with descriptions, plenty of helpful commentary.
Available as both a print book and eBook.
Romeo and Juliet by Matt Wiegle (Illustrator); SparkNotes Staff
ISBN: 9781411498747
No Fear Shakespeare Graphic Novels is a series based on the translated texts of the plays found in No Fear Shakespeare. The original No Fear series made Shakespeare's plays much easier to read, but these dynamic visual adaptations are impossible to put down. Each of the titles is illustrated in its own unique style, but all are distinctively offbeat, slightly funky, and appealing to teen readers. Each book will feature: illustrated cast of characters, a helpful plot summary, line-by-line translations of the original play, illustrations that show the reader exactly what's happening in each scene--making the plot and characters even clearer than in the original No Fear Shakespeare books.
Available as both a print book and eBook.
Manga Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet by Richard Appignanesi; Sonia Leong; William Shakespeare
ISBN: 9780955285608
Shakespeare's famous tragedy unfurls in front of a dramatic manga setting, in which the fair city of Verona becomes a street in the highly fashionable Shibuya district of Tokyo. The swordfights become duals with katanas; the Capulets and the Montagues, opposing Yakuza families. Conflict explodes when Romeo - a bleached-blonde, well-dressed rock star - falls in love with Juliet, the pure and innocent Capulet daughter.
Romeo and/or Juliet: a chooseable-path adventure by Ryan North
ISBN: 9781101983300
In this choose-your-own-path version of Romeo and Juliet, you choose where the story goes every time you read! What if Romeo never met Juliet? What if Juliet got really buff instead of moping around the castle all day? What if they teamed up to take over Verona with robot suits? Whatever your adventure, you're guaranteed to find lots of romance, lots of epic fight scenes, and plenty of questionable decision-making by very emotional teens.
I am Juliet by Jackie French
ISBN: 9780732297985
This is the well-known story of Juliet Capulet and her love for Romeo. It also the story about the increasing helplessness Juliet feels as she realises that unlike young men her age, her life will effectively be determined and controlled by others, who see her having an arranged marriage of alliance and becoming a breeder of sons. I am Juliet closely follows the well-known and loved plot of the play, but we also see the point of view of Rob, the thirteen-year-old boy who is the first to play the role of Juliet on the Elizabethan stage
Romeo and Juliet by Joeming Dunn; Rod Espinosa (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781616412692
Retells, in comic book format, Shakespeare's play of the tragic consequences of a deadly feud between two rival families in Renaissance Verona.
Romeo and Juliet (eBook) by William Shakespeare; Eva Cabrera (Illustrator); Jorge Gonzalez; Martin Powell (Retold by)
ISBN: 9781434244369
A graphic novel adaptation of William Shakespeare's play about two young lovers in Verona, whose families are enemies.

Film: West Side Story
Romeo and Juliet is updated to the tenements of New York City in this Oscar-winning musical landmark. Adapted by Ernest Lehman from the Broadway production, the movie opens with an overhead shot of Manhattan, an effect that director Robert Wise would repeat over the Alps in The Sound of Music four years later. We are introduced to two rival street gangs: the Jets, second-generation American teens, and the Sharks, Puerto Rican immigrants. When the war between the Jets and Sharks reaches a fever pitch, Jets leader Riff (Russ Tamblyn) decides to challenge the Sharks to one last "winner take all" rumble. He decides to meet Sharks leader Bernardo (George Chakiris) for a war council at a gymnasium dance; to bolster his argument, Riff wants his old pal Tony (Richard Beymer), the cofounder of the Jets, to come along. But Tony has set his sights on vistas beyond the neighborhood and has fallen in love with Bernardo's sister, Maria (Natalie Wood), a love that, as in Romeo and Juliet, will eventually end in tragedy. Via ClickView (login required).
Film: Shakespeare in Love
A romantic comedy set in the 1500s that tells the story behind one of the greatest love stories of all time, Romeo and Juliet. Starring: Gwyneth Paltrow, Joseph Fiennes, Geoffrey Rush Directed by: John Madden. Production Year: 2007. Duration: 2:01:58 - Via Clickview (login required).

English: Romeo and Juliet